Postie Mcpostal post

Standard

…I genuinely don’t know what to write but just wanted to post something.

Sooo… Christmas? Christmas. I guess seeing as everyone else is talking about it I may as well start.
I quite like Christmas. I like cheesy christmas movies and feeling all warm and toasty by the fire and getting all excited on christmas eve. I also like snow, But sometimes there’s so much of it that it hurts your eyes. Of course in good old Britannia even a light dusting is a freakin’ natural disaster.
Hah! I know! I’ll talk about being British!

Apparently in the UK we’re quite up ourselves compared to other countries. I can’t really confirm this having not really been abroad much, but everyone else seems to think it. And what’s all this about the bad teeth stereotype? I don’t get it. We don’t all like tea, in fact most of my friends think it’s rank. Which brings us onto slang. We have a lot of strange words. I’ll give you a quick list:

Trousers- pants. And just to confuse you, we call underwear pants. Not sure if anyone else does that.

Chips- Fries. Just bigger and chunkier and a squillion times more delicious.

Chav- Offensive slang for a typically lower-class person who wears excessive amounts of gold jewellery, orange make-up, fake eyelashes etc. Normally listens to popular music.

Toff- Posh person. Opposite to a chav.Not used as much.

“Are you having a giraffe?”- Having a laugh. Cockney rhyming slang.

“A cuppa rosie-lee”- Cup of tea. More cockney rhyming slang.

Pavement- Sidewalk.

Scones- Do you guys call them scones? Big sort of cake/biscuit things with raisins in. Usually comes with jam and cream. Does the rest of the world even have scones? *gasp* What a sad world that would be…

AND FINALLY SOMETHING I WANT TO CLEAR UP…

Right. Aluminium. Pronounced al-yoo-min-ee-um. Not al-oo-min-um. It is spelt that way. This is just my opinion so don’t kill me plaz.

SOOOOOOOOONGS

Listen to this. I like it a lot. Don’t know the band very well but I shall look at more of their stuff. This is “Ark” By We Are The Ocean :https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z5vu6Vj_VmQ

And then there is this. Godammit mcr. I was revisiting their second album and I found this which felt like the most relatable thing I had heard in a long time and it pretty much summed up everything I felt but couldn’t put into words at the time. This is “Cemetary Drive” by My Chemical Romance. I couldn’t find a proper music video but this is somebody’s fanmade version:

See ya.

P.S. Keys? If you’re reading this, expect a Christmas card. We still all miss you.

Leave a Reply

